Wonderings and learnings

Lately, I’ve been returning to two concepts.  One is what I have decided to call ‘folk Christianity’.  By this I mean the kind of Christian teachings which are widely disseminated on Christian radio stations, certain devotionals which had better remain nameless and more than a few internet videos.  I’m interested in how big an influence they play in believers’ lives and how, as a church leader, I can ensure that my people get fed on a bit more than this kind of thing.  Is the time I get with them on a Sunday enough to counteract some of this folk Christianity and how do I need to leverage this time in order to optimise its value?

The other big idea floating around right now is the importance of community for the church, especially in the face of what I perceive to be a rise in the building of networks over the forming of relationships.  Again, I feel like I’m about to have a lot to say about this, perhaps especially in the light of my recent readings in theology.

But, in both cases, these ideas are going to need time to simmer and a good chunk of time to formulate a post on either subject, time which I do not have today.  So, instead, I thought I’d share with you two links which I have loved this week.  One is for the practitioner side of me, a list of wise thoughts on ministry; the other talks about the importance of deep work and is for the academic in me, although most of my readers could probably find a way to apply it to the work they do.

The first link has inspired me again, to the degree that I am quite tempted to print it out and pin it up somewhere round my desk!  Worth clicking through to have a read…

The second has made me reflect deeply on what constitutes ‘deep work’ in my research workstream and led me to the conclusion that it is drafting; note-taking and editing are really not brain-stretching at all, after all, whereas articulating something for myself can be much more mind-expanding, especially where trying to say what I need to requires a bit of mental agility and verbal dexterity, usually accompanied by a few complex footnotes and rather too many references to hold in my head at one time!  Furthermore, I noticed this week when I was doing ‘deep work’ that, after working through a short period of procrastination and general disinclination to do something hard, the hour or two of deep work which followed was unusually productive.  Given that little revelation, I am now reflecting on how I could up the number of hours spent on deep work in any one week.  For that reason, I’m suggesting you have a look at this second link to see how it might benefit you too.

That’s it from me today; it’s time to enjoy the sunny blue skies of a winter Friday.  Happy weekend!

Photo credit

Leave a Reply

