Leadership axioms

I’ve really enjoyed reading Hybels’ book ‘Axiom’.  But I did think what an easy book it was for him to write and publish.  It got me thinking about writing my own book in this style.

Still, I don’t suppose I could publish quite so easily as Hybels.  He has the benefit of years of wisdom gained in leading a large well-known church, as well as a lot of respect as a writer in the area of Christian leadership.  People want to hear what he has to say.  And I…well, I have none of the above really!

But, in a sense, getting published is not really the point here.  What matters is being able to distil my own leadership lessons into pithy concepts so that I can pass them on to those whom I develop in the area of leadership.  Sometimes, of course, we all have to learn the hard way, but just sometimes we are willing to learn from someone else’s experience.  That’s what I’ve been trying to do from Hybels’ axioms.  And indeed from all my leadership and spirituality readings.

So, what are those leadership proverbs that I have distilled from my experience so far?  Well, I have come up with a list of  ten concepts fairly easily.  Maybe over the coming weeks, I will share a few – for what they’re worth.  Maybe you’ll even share some back?

Leave a Reply

