A soul shaped by mission – a personal response

OK, so I took my own challenge seriously and listened to God.  It wasn’t as bad as I expected actually.  Not that I think I have finished the listening process or anything but I have realised that if I listen, he usually speaks.

Last year, I was thinking about what I would do after finishing my Masters degree.  I lead a church obviously and am supported part-time to do that.  But what about the other half week?  So this time last year, I was not only thinking but, as is my wont, I was worrying.  At that time though, God graciously showed me that whilst I could create my own working solutions at the end of the Masters, he wanted me to let him bring things to me.  He also said that I should not look for work that simply uses gifts and sets of skills that I have; rather I am to seek work which flows naturally out of who I am.

Well, a year on and I’ve done some more worrying again.  On the same topic.  But what God said keeps resonating in my heart.  I am not to create my own solutions but I am to look at what opportunities he is bringing to me right now.  And I am to think in terms of work which comes out of who I am, not just what I can do.

And as I listened to God over the last few days, he’s shown me two things which he has already brought into my path in the last couple of months.  One is a short-term theological teaching opportunity and the other is a possibility (not yet confirmed!) of having one or even two of my theological essays published in an academic journal.  And I know that these things flow out of who I am.  I can’t help writing and I can’t help teaching, just like I can’t help building the local church.  I would do these things for free.  (Don’t tell the trustees at my church though!)

In fact, I want to write a book.  I’ve only really just started to admit this to myself in the last few weeks.  I’d always said it’d be a job for later in life.  But maybe God is leading me to have a go now.  I also want to teach the Bible and applied theology.  The problem with these is that neither is exactly what you might call a stable option.  In fact, after these opportunities to teach and write, I can’t see where the next opportunities might come from.  And I hate not knowing.  But that’s God through and through, isn’t it?  Why show me everything when he can use this as an opportunity to grow faith in me?!

So maybe I will keep trusting and keep listening…and maybe God is going to unfold a path for me which is more beautiful and more fulfilling than anything I could ever imagine.  He is, Scripture says, a rewarder of those who seek him.  But can I let myself go enough to trust him?

4 thoughts on “A soul shaped by mission – a personal response

  1. Pingback: Not so lost in 2011! « The Art of Steering

  2. This is a very thought provoking concept: “I am not to create my own solutions but I am to look at what opportunities he is bringing to me right now. And I am to think in terms of work which comes out of who I am, not just what I can do.” One I am going to take into my own prayer time to mull and pray over.
    Thanks for sharing it!
    Susan

  3. Pingback: Coming full circle | The Art of Steering

Leave a Reply

