Spiritual community – part 2

Continuing my thought from the weekend…

Haley Barton also says this:

It is much easier to talk about community, and even try to create community for others, than it is to actually live it at the leadership level.

OK, so how many of us know that’s been true of us?

I try to create community for others all the time.  Sometimes I invite them into my life, or I start a church initiative to bring them into proximity (and eventually relationship) to other believers, or I ask someone in the church to befriend someone new to the community or a younger believer.  In fact, the more I think about it, I do this all the time!                 Image: Tina Phillips / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Living it at the leadership level is a LOT harder. 🙂  

But over the last few years I’ve got better at it.  My leadership community is not as wide as I’d like, and I’d prefer it if all those in my leadership community were also close to one another, but it’s a start.  There are a few people who know me well enough to call me on my attitudes, my underlying motives and my mess-ups, even whilst also knowing which of my successes are fundamental to who I am and making me celebrate those.

To you guys, you’re family!

And to those of you where developing community between us is in process, let’s pray that it’s the beginning of many years of knowing and being known!

Leave a Reply

