Resting the mind

Sorry if you are hoping to hear about something else…I am actually having a Ruth Haley Barton fest over the last few weeks and it seems set to continue for a little while yet!

This quotation comes from ‘Invitation to Solitude and Silence’.  For me, it’s one of those statements which, when you read them, seems to have an inside track on your mind!  Listen…

O Lord, my heart is not lifted up,
my eyes are not raised too high;
I do not occupy myself with things
too great and too marvellous for me. (Psalm 131:1)

…The psalmist’s description of the mind at rest is powerful both in its simplicity and in its seeming impossibility for the modern mind.  The truth about me is that I seem to always be occupying myself with things too great and too marvellous for me – that is, things too complicated and weighty for the human mind to comprehend or figure out.  Yesterday I wanted to fix my marriage, today I want to fix the children, tomorrow I’ll try to fix the world.  It’s always something.

Have you learned to rest your mind?  I’m with Haley Barton – not even anywhere close yet!

Leave a Reply

