Glory-enhancer or glory-degrader?

I’ve got Dan Allender and Tremper Longman’s ‘Intimate Allies’ on one of the many reading piles at the moment.

In the latest updates section on the status of books strewn across my house, you will be pleased to know that there are fewer.  Which means that I have read some of the backlog.  It also means that my college library will have fewer spaces on its shelves – I’ve had some of those books on a very long repeat renewal!

Anyway, ‘Intimate Allies’ (or, as Peter likes to keep calling it, ‘Intimate Aliens’…yes, his sense of humour is a little niche!) is half-read.  It got half-read at Christmas and has not progressed much since then.  😦

But here’s a bit that I love…

The writers are talking about humans reflecting the glory of God by virtue of having been created in his image.  And they say this:

Our options in our marriages are simple: we can enhance the glory of our spouses, or we can degrade them…And if our heart desires the glory of God, then we will begin to ask the difficult question: what does it look like to enhance the glory of our beloved?

Wow, what a question in our me-soaked world where all that matters is my glory and how I can enhance it and bend everyone else to do the same!

Since Peter and I are trying to read this book together…

…which, by the way, is another reason why it has been on hold – I have to wait for him to catch up.  I think it must feel rubbish to be reading a book with a partner or group and know that everyone else has finished it and you haven’t.  Though I can’t think if that has ever happened to me?! 

(Hmm, end of yet another digression.  Sorry!)

So, since we are trying to read it together, we’ve also been taking advantage of some of the questions at the end of the chapters as a basis for talking about our marriage.  This usually takes place over a glass of white wine in the pub on a Saturday night.  Admittedly, it is the kind of pub which makes you realise your social life has now become pretty much what you always hoped to escape – middle England. 😀

Anyway, before this post degenerates completely into a series of disconnected digressions about my life, let me say this.

I do think that my marriage relationship can enhance my glory or degrade it.

But in a way, that is not the point.  The point is whether I am going to seek to enhance or degrade Peter’s glory. 

What if, in our marriages this week, we put our own glory to one side and concentrated on enhancing our spouse’s glory?

Leave a Reply

