Conscientiously ‘wasting’ time with God

Silent solitude makes true speech possible and personal.  If I am not in touch with my own belovedness, then I cannot touch the sacredness of others…Conscientiously ‘wasting’ time with God enables me to speak and act from greater strength, to forgive rather than nurse the latest bruise to my wounded ego, to be capable of magnanimity during the petty moments of life.

This comes from ‘Abba’s Child’ by Brennan Manning.  I’m enjoying reading this at the moment.  It is one of those books to savour and reflect upon a few pages at a time.  Do you have a book you are savouring slowly at the moment?

Leave a Reply

