Do I get a wetsuit?

The second of my recent posts about water-walking has been playing round and round my head lately.  I know that my latest step out of the boat is not something that I can do without God.  If he’s not in it, I will sink.  But most of the time when I am thinking about this water-walking activity, I catch myself panicking about the fact that I cannot do this by myself.

Wow.  Isn’t it amazing how quickly a decision to step out of the boat with Jesus can become a panic attack about the fact that I just can’t do this alone and what am I doing even trying? 

Image: Salvatore Vuono / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

And yet, you see, the irony is that last time I checked, Jesus wasn’t asking me to do this alone.

So it’s a bit pointless panicking about my own inability and the size of the waves!  The deal is not that I step out of the boat because I am capable of walking on water.  I’m not.

The deal is that I step out of the boat and I’m with him.  And somehow it will all be ok.

Even if I am going to end up with wet feet, windswept hair and covered in seaspray.  (Hmm, do you think Jesus might run to a wetsuit for me on this one?!)

One thought on “Do I get a wetsuit?

  1. Pingback: Writings from the water « The Art of Steering

Leave a Reply

