In the King’s arms

When joy’s heart breaks, it’s because joy feels free and safe enough to embrace everything, even the feeling of falling to pieces.

Mike Mason, Champagne for the Soul

I was reminded of this safety only last week as God spoke to me through a pub sign as I passed by.  I know, prophetic pub signs…who would have thought?!  Anyway, this sign was laid out like this:

The King’s Arms
Courage Established
17??

 Now, I promise I am not the kind of person who goes round ‘looking for a sign’ wherever she goes, but at the time I was mid-prayer about something which felt like it could maybe make me fall to pieces.  Suddenly, out of nowhere, my eyes are lifted up to this sign.  I’ve passed it tens, if not hundreds, of times and rarely noticed it.  I’ve certainly not read it as a prophetic sign before!

But as my eyes swept upward, it was as if God was saying that I am safe because where I am is in the King’s arms.  And, as a result, courage is established.

So, if your heart is breaking today then remember that, in Christ, you are already safe.  Don’t fear embracing the feeling of falling to pieces.  You are held in the King’s arms and your joy can survive even heartbreak.  Beloved, you are ‘free and safe enough to embrace everything, even the feeling of falling to pieces’ because of your position in him.  Joy WILL come again.  He has said that it will be so.

Leave a Reply

