The mystery of who I am

A life of joy rests upon the discovery of what I, and I alone, am meant to do and then doing it with all my heart.  As I glimpse the mystery of who I am, my road may indeed seem narrow, and as I press further on, it may grow so narrow that the decision to keep moving in this direction can be exceedingly difficult.  Enormous forces will contend to distract me, to swerve me from the path of what I’m called to do and how I’m to do it.  Joy depends upon narrowing and narrowing my particular destiny, clarifying and honing it to a gleaming point until all my energies are focused, like the rays of the sun through a magnifying glass, upon the accomplishment of my own unique purpose, the mystery of who I am.

Mike Mason, Champagne for the Soul.

Does your road seem narrow right now?  Are you hard-pressed on every side?  Fighting distractions from the one path which you know God has given you?

And yet, could it be that your ultimate joy depends on you continuing to choose this path, accomplishing the mystery of who you are?

5 thoughts on “The mystery of who I am

  1. This could have been written for me!! A week ago I blogged a little about my path – and how difficult it is to continue. (http://www.joroyal.com/2011/10/out-of-sorts.html) The week since has had its ups and downs – times when I have felt empowered and equipped to continue – but others that I have felt it is all too hard and wanting to give up and find an easier option. It’s a tough journey, full of decisions I would rather others made for me! But deep down I know it is the path God has called me to walk. I love the Mason quote, ‘As I glimpse the mystery of who I am, my road may indeed seem narrow, and as I press further on, it may grow so narrow that the decision to keep moving in this direction can be exceedingly difficult.’ Sums it up! And yet, I know, somehow I must keep going – because it is integral to ‘who I am’. A timely, challenging and encouraging post – thank you!

  2. Pingback: Determinedly taking possession « The Art of Steering

Leave a Reply

