Review: Living Close to God (When you’re not good at it)

Living Close to God by Gene Edwards was provided to me as an e-book for free courtesy of WaterbrookMultnomah in return for an honest review.

This book is an invitation to ‘turn to the Lord’, in the writer’s own words.  It seeks to offer an opening to ‘a spiritual life for Christians who are not naturally spiritually inclined’.

I’d not read anything by Gene Edwards before and so wasn’t sure what to expect.  And in some ways I struggled with his writing.  The chapters seem to meander somewhat from topic to topic.  The early chapters seem to introduce key principles and then later ones revisit the same ideas.  I don’t think this was the best organisation for this text because it made the book seem to go on long after it had made its point.  I’d also say that the writing was neither beautiful nor was the mode of expression arresting.  It wasn’t a book which was a pleasure to read.  And yet…!

Somehow all of these criticisms were not that important in the end.  The content of Edwards’ ideas for helping believers to move into a deeper experience of their connection with God in Christ was great.  So good, in fact, that I have been reflecting on them all week since I read the book the other Friday night!  I can envisage how the practice of these helps to prayer and intimacy with Christ could be included in any working person’s day, eased into the cracks and crevices of a busy life, and I can see how all of us who struggle with making time for God could benefit from Edwards’ advice.

So, my feelings are mixed.  Would I want to have bought this book with my own money?  Not really, but then I would have missed out on some good thoughts.  I guess your decision depends somewhat on the size of your book budget and whether you could borrow this book from a nearby Christian library!

Leave a Reply

