Doing it wrong

We grow spiritually much more by doing it wrong than by doing it right.

Richard Rohr in Falling Upward.

Hmm, that fits well with a fear of failure…not!

But I think this is going to be a helpful book for me personally, though I get the feeling that I may have a higher view of Jesus than Rohr might.  Yet though the feel of this book is that it may be less about the Spirit who is now called the Spirit of Christ and rather more about ‘spirituality’ in a generic sense, I think it will contain some fruitful material for personal reflection as I spend a couple of days for reading, prayer and reflection this week – away from work, research and my various freelance projects.

I am looking forward to these coming days for reflection, rest and the absence of an over-filled schedule.  I think I misjudged my workload this term, with the result that though I did the necessary hours on everything, there was one casualty and that was me!  I am such a slow, slow learner on this one; I despair of ever learning the rhythms of grace.

I suppose on that front, at least, the quotation is apposite.  But I wonder how many times I’ll have to do it wrong before I will start to do this ‘Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened’ thing right?!

Leave a Reply

