Review: The Grace Outpouring

I came across The Grace Outpouring  by Roy Godwin and Dave Roberts recently.  In fact, I managed to get myself a free copy of the e-book on NetGalley in return for a fair review.  Goodness only knows what it was doing on there because usually the only books on there are ones which are pending publication.  This one has been out for a while but I suspect it is something to do with a reissued edition coming out this October.  Either way, I was pretty happy as it’s one I’ve been aware of for a while but just not got round to obtaining!

My poor husband was trying to read another book at the time I was reading this one but he didn’t get very far because I kept laughing out loud at the goodness of God recounted in the pages of The Grace Outpouring and then insisted on reading aloud to him pages at a time!  It’s the story of an unassuming retreat centre in Wales, a prayer house named Ffald-y-Brenin, and the couple who run it.  In itself, it could have been a dull read.  But, in fact, it absolutely sparkled with the presence of God, reminding me of the sense I got in my early twenties from reading books like Leonard Ravenhill’s Why Revival Tarries, Arthur Wallis’ In the Day of thy Power and Norman Grubb’s Rees Howells: Intercessor.

The book is a cowrite which I presume means that Dave Roberts wrote it based on Godwin’s conversations and subject to his final approval.  I found it well-written, flowing smoothly and capturing something of what I can only assume is Godwin’s sense of humour.  It contains story after story of what God has done at Ffald-y-Brenin.  There are stories of healings so dramatic that it sounds like fiction, as well as references to person after person – even hardened atheists – coming to know God in that place.  There are accounts of people hearing God speaking with an accuracy which is almost shocking (though this perhaps is an indictment of my faith levels!).  We read of farmers in the local valley experiencing unheard-of yields and blessings on their livestock businesses, whilst the local occult leader pays Ffald-y-Brenin a visit in order to recount the sudden and complete loss of power by all the local occult and pagan practitioners.  And there are references to the presence of God that sometimes seems to root people to the spot in conviction of sin under the power of grace, a presence so heavy in a place that the Ffald-y-Brenin chapel was, on one occasion, filled with light in a way quite unexplainable save with reference to God.

It captivated me over the day and a half that I read it.  It reminded me of the dreams I’ve carried for over a decade and it encouraged me again to dare to hope for a move of God right across this nation.  Read it and let your faith be stirred.

One thought on “Review: The Grace Outpouring

  1. Pingback: Reviews: September 2012 round-up « The Art of Steering

Leave a Reply

