Reviews: January 2013

100_1393Reviews, reviews…time to write some more!  How did we get to the end of this month so quickly and I’ve hardly read anything I actually want to review?!  Oh well, here goes.

🙂

Peter Leithart, Fyodor Dostoevsky

This is the fictionalised account of Dostoevsky’s life through the eyes of a theologian.

I really wanted this book to be good and I really persevered with it.  But it was to no avail.  I could not get into the writing or even work out where the book was going, crafted as it is largely in the form of reminiscing dialogue.  The writing is sparse, terse even at times, and the author has a developed and mature literary style – but it just didn’t work for me.  I think also that my biggest hurdle in reading this book was my failure to understand quite whether this fictionalised history was more fiction or history.

So it’s not one I’d read again but I would say in its defence that I think this may be more to do with my preferences than the quality of the book.

I received a free copy of this book through the BookSneeze programme in return for a fair review.

Kris and Jason Vallotton, Outrageous Courage

This one was GOOD!  Not outstandingly well-written, not especially high-brow, but just good because it is a story of one woman’s extraordinary faith and her pursuit of her God.  If your faith feels low or if you have just got way too caught up with the busyness and distractions of life to remember what walking by faith even looks like, then read this and prepare to be inspired again!

I received a free copy of this e-book from NetGalley in return for a fair review.

Various authors, Glimpses of Heaven

This is a short-ish collection of offerings from various authors about recent experiences in their own lives as interpreted from the eyes of faith.  There may have been more of an editorial brief than this but it is not clear from the resulting product what that might have been.  It’s not unpleasant; it is just a bit anodyne really.  Did I enjoy it?  Yes, it was a good diversion for an hour or so.  Would I spend good money on it?  Sorry, but no.

I received a free copy of this e-book from NetGalley in return for a fair review.

Leave a Reply

