More than I can say…

332030237_f6f0e0d00e_b

The silence was beautiful.

And not long enough.

I was cared for and well-fed and surrounded by some lovely women, most of whom were in the region of three decades my senior, and it was beyond what I could have hoped.  We loved one another through our shared silence in a way that I could never have predicted and, by the end of our five days, we felt that we had come to know one another on a very deep level.

Though I use words as my daily tool, I find it so difficult to express in words what I received during that week.  The quietness of the first full day – hours sitting on a sofa next to a log fire with the sun streaming through the windows, punctuated by the rhythm of the Northumbria Community prayer offices.  Times of prayer where it was so easy to hear Jesus’ voice because of the way that another was holding me to that place of prayer.  The dark, winding journey through the lanes each night as I found my way back to my bed, staying offsite seen first as drawback – the result of booking only four months in advance – yet having proved gift, part of the rhythm of my days and a movement into a deeper stillness as I withdrew even from those with whom I was doing this silence.

The silence was beautiful.

And it was not long enough.

This is a post in my sabbatical series.

Leave a Reply

