A blade of grass

8026563959_da8b4b7848_k

What if I were just a blade of grass?

Humour me here.

What if I were just a blade of grass rising out from the soil and all I had to do was bask in the sunshine?  What if, as Murray says over and over in Waiting on God, this were what it is to wait on God, to rest in him?

Waiting in the sunshine of His love is what will ripen the soul for his blessing.

In fact, perhaps this is the very highest call: simply to rest in the light of God.

To let his light warm us, his rays to lighten our darkness.  Even as trees and flowers and grass each do nothing to flourish, nothing to keep the sun shining on them, so also perhaps we need only ‘bask in the sunshine when it comes’.

And as I reflect on this, my soul releases that breath so unconsciously-held against demands felt.  The tension in my body abates a notch as I ponder the outlandish.

The possibility that it just might not depend on me.  That maybe all I have to do is wait to be warmed in the sunshine of his love.  That, even perhaps, ‘as the sun does its work in the weak one who seeks its rays, God will do His work in [me]’.

I ponder this outrageousness.

And here find myself face to face with grace.

Photo credit

Leave a Reply

