Remembering again

2128766046_61ffe5cfdf_b

In some ways, to expect only gradual change may be all too easy a way of letting ourselves off the hook.

Susan B. Williams and Peter R. Holmes, Meeting Jesus Together: Introducing Salugenic Community

How is it that, despite knowing his ways, I am still surprised by discontinuous change?  Too often I tell myself to expect only gradual change.

I tell myself to expect only gradual change when, really, what I expect is nothing at all.

For, all too often, my heart is weary of shipwreck on the rocks of waiting.  And, quietly, I let my focus slip.  I give up hope of divine interruption, of a point change in the rails.  I believe the lie that who I am now is largely who I will become.

I forget who my God is.

What about you?  Are you ready to remember again who he is?

Photo credit

Leave a Reply

